Around Munich

Year after year, the beautiful surroundings of Munich attract visitors from all over the world,
who don’t want to miss out on the cultural and scenic treasures surrounding the Bavarian
state capital. We have put together a small selection for you:


Glentleiten Open Air Museum

On an area of 25 hectares above the majestic Kochel Lake, visitors can discover interesting facts about Upper Bavaria’s farming and preindustrial past. Different types of houses and craft workshops, peasant farmers’ properties, and farmyards – mainly dating from the 18th century – can be seen there today. There are permanent exhibitions with different themes, as well as demonstration gardens, historical livestock breeds, and lots more.


Andechs Monastery (Kloster Andechs)

The Andechs Monastery is primarily known for its beer garden that serves its famous monastery beer, and the pilgrimage church on the “Sacred Mountain”. The Sacred Mountain was a place of worship even in ancient times: The Andechs Monastery was then founded in the 10th century, and an order of Benedictine monks has been residing here since 1455. The strong beer brewed in the monastery’s own brewery has been served to the public for more than 500 years now. The monastery’s beer garden seats around 4,000 guests and is open from Easter until October (no strong beer is served on Saturdays and Sundays!)


Dachau Concentration Camp Memorial Site

As well as a documentary exhibition in the former administration buildings, visitors to the memorial complex, built on the former site of the Dachau Concentration Camp, can see the camp prison, the two crematoriums, and the reconstructed prisoners’ barracks. The newly designed exhibition about the life and suffering of the former prisoners was opened in 2003, and is still on show today. Previously unseen documents about the history of the first National Socialist’s concentration camp were presented here for the first time.


Wolfratshausen Fairytale Forest (Märchenwald)

Children in particular will be in their element in Europe’s largest fairytale forest with moving figures right in the heart of the Isarauen (the meadows on the banks of the Isar River) near Wolfratshausen. There are huge slides, a dragon swing, a vintage railway, and lots more.


Neuschwanstein Castle

With this castle, King Ludwig II., who was known for his peculiarities, wanted to turn the theatrical world of Richard Wagner into a reality – less than one month after the monarch’s death (see Lake Starnberg) his “fairytale castle” was opened for public viewing. Today Neuschwanstein attracts over a million visitors every year. It presides over the valley at a height of 200 meters on a rocky outcrop against the backdrop of the Allgäu Alps, just a few kilometers away from the castle is the Wies Church (see Wies Church). The Broadway version of the life of King Ludwig II. is staged in the purpose-built musical theater: an elaborate performance before an impressive background with views of the original castle.


Lake Starnberg

Lake Starnberg is the nearest lake to Munich and one of the most popular recreational areas for Munich locals and tourists with its many beaches for swimming, sporting activities, and boat trips. A historically significant year is 1886, when the myth-shrouded King Ludwig II. and his physician Dr. Gudden met their deaths in the lake, a mystery which remains unsolved to this day. A wooden cross on the eastern banks of the lake near Castle Berg marks the spot and serves as a memorial.


Tegernsee and Schliersee Lakes

Approximately 60 kilometers south of Munich, close to the Austrian border, you’ll find the two picturesque lakes, Tegernsee and Schliersee – popular starting points for wonderful mountain hikes or summery swimming fun. It is also possible to book boat trips around the lakes. Beer lovers can enjoy a chilled beer at the famous Bräustüberl beer hall in the town of Tegernsee.


Wies Church (Wieskirche)

This impressive church is an important pilgrimage church. It was built between 1746 and 1754 and is one of the best preserved examples of genuine Rococo architecture. It was designed by Dominikus Zimmermann and is a UNESCO World Heritage site.


Poing Wilderness Park (Wildpark Poing)

This park with the most abundant wildlife in Germany stretches out over 57 hectares of pristine countryside. It is home to over 100 deer and 50 moufflons (wild sheep), as well as countless wild boar and herds of deer, which have meanwhile become tame. Much to the pleasure of the visitors, who can observe the animals up close. With chicken coops and pony stables, miniature goat pen, fish ponds, wetland biotopes, and aviaries.



Germany’s highest mountain is the Zugspitze – its summit lies 2,964 meters above sea level. A trip with the cogwheel train from Garmisch-Partenkirchen to the Schneeferner Glacier summit is guaranteed to impress. The glacier’s ski resort is open from November until May and in summer you’ll be tempted to cool off with a dip into the glistening, greenish-blue Eibsee Lake.

fbxinggplus
 
 
 

Rund um München

Das wunderschöne Umland von München zieht Jahr für Jahr Besucher aus aller Welt an,
die sich die kulturellen und landschaftlichen Juwele rund um die bayerische
Landeshauptstadt keinesfalls entgehen lassen möchten. Entdecken Sie während Ihres
Aufenthalts in unserem Hotel diesen Schatz. Wir haben für Sie eine kleine
Auswahl zusammengestellt:

 
 

Freilichtmuseum Glentleiten

Auf 25 Hektar Fläche über dem majestätischen Kochelsee erfährt der Besucher viel Wissenswertes zur bäuerlichen und vorindustriellen Vergangenheit Oberbayerns. Die verschiedenen Haustypen sowie Handwerksstätten, Kleinbauernanwesen und Bauernhöfe – überwiegend aus dem 18 Jahrhundert – sind heute dort zu sehen. Es gibt Dauerausstellungen zu verschiedenen Themen sowie Demonstrationsgärten, historische Nutztierrassen und vieles mehr.

 
 

Kloster Andechs

Kloster Andechs ist vor allem durch seinen Biergarten mit dem berühmten Klosterbier und die Wallfahrtskirche auf dem „Heiligen Berg“ bekannt. Schon im Altertum diente der Heilige Berg als Kultstätte; im 10. Jahrhundert wurde dann das Kloster Andechs gegründet, in dem seit 1455 ein Benediktinerorden residiert. Seit mehr als 500 Jahren wird in Andechs öffentlich Starkbier aus der eigenen Klosterbrauerei ausgeschenkt. Der Klosterbiergarten hat circa 4000 Plätze und ist von Ostern bis Oktober geöffnet (samstags und sonntags kein Starkbier-Ausschank!).

 
 

KZ Gedenkstätte Dachau

In der auf dem ehemaligen Gelände des Konzentrationslagers Dachau errichteten Gedenkstätte gibt es neben einer Dokumentarausstellung in den ehemaligen Wirtschaftsgebäuden das Lagergefängnis, die beiden Krematorien sowie eine rekonstruierte Häftlingsbaracke zu sehen. 2003 wurde die neu gestaltete Ausstellung über Leben und Leiden der einstigen Häftlinge eröffnet, die bis heute läuft. Erstmals wurden hier bisher unbekannte Dokumente zur Geschichte des ersten Konzentrationslagers der Nationalsozialisten vorgestellt. Foto: ©VGMeril_Pixelio

 
 

Märchenwald Wolfratshausen

Besonders Kinder haben ihre wahre Freude in Europas größtem Märchenwald mit beweglichen Figuren inmitten der Isarauen bei Wolfratshausen. Es gibt Riesenrutschen, eine Drachenschaukel, eine Oldtimer-Bahn und vieles mehr.

 
 

Schloss Neuschwanstein

Mit dieser Burg wollte der entrückte König Ludwigs II. die Bühnenwelt Richard Wagners Realität werden lassen – weniger als einen Monat nach dem Tod des Regenten (siehe Starnberger See) wurde sein „Märchenschloss“ zur öffentlichen Besichtigung freigegeben. Heute zieht Neuschwanstein jährlich über eine Million Besucher an. Es thront 200 Meter über dem Tal auf einem zerklüfteten Felsen vor der Kulisse der Allgäuer Alpen, nur wenige Kilometer vom Schloss entfernt steht die Wieskirche (siehe Wieskirche). Im eigens errichteten Musical-Theater wurde die „Broadway-Version“ des Lebens König Ludwigs II. aufgeführt: eine aufwändige Inszenierung vor imposanter Kulisse mit Blick auf das Original-Schloss.

 
 

Starnberger See

Der Starnberger See ist Münchens nächstgelegener See und eines der beliebtesten Naherholungsziele der Münchner und „Zugroasten“ mit vielen Badestränden, Sportmöglichkeiten oder Schiffsrundfahrten. Geschichtlich relevant ist das Jahr 1886, als der sagenumwobene König Ludwig II. mit seinem Arzt Dr. Gudden auf bis heute noch nicht geklärte Weise im See den Tod fand. Ein Holzkreuz am Ostufer bei Schloss Berg weist auf die Stelle und Begebenheit hin.

 
 

Tegernsee und Schliersee

Circa 60 Kilometer südlich von München nahe der österreichischen Grenze liegen das malerische Seen-Duo Tegernsee und Schliersee – beliebte Ausgangspunkte für wunderschöne Bergwanderungen oder sommerlichen Badespaß. Hier können auch Schiffsrundfahrten gebucht werden. Bier-Liebhaber genießen ein „kühles Helles“ im berühmten Bräustüberl in Tegernsee.

 
 

Wieskirche

Diese beeindruckende Kirche ist eine bedeutende Wallfahrtskirche. Sie wurde zwischen 1746 und 1754 erbaut und ist eines der am besten erhaltenen Beispiele für die reine Baukunst des Rokoko. Sie wurde von Dominikus Zimmermann entworfen und zählt zum UNESCO Weltkulturerbe!

 
 

Wildpark Poing

Auf 57 Hektar naturbelassener Fläche erstreckt sich der wildreichste Park Deutschlands. Über 100 Hirsche und 50 Mufflons sowie zahlreiche Wildschwein- und Rehherden leben hier und sind inzwischen zahm geworden. Ganz zur Freude der Besucher, die die Tiere so aus nächster Nähe betrachten können. Mit Geflügelhof, Ponyhof, Zwergziegengehege, Fischteiche und Feuchtbiotope sowie Vogelvolieren.

 
 

Zugspitze

Deutschlands höchster Berg ist die Zugspitze – ihr Gipfel liegt 2964 Meter über dem Meeresspiegel. Eine Fahrt mit der Zahnradbahn von Garmisch-Partenkirchen aus zum Gipfel Schneefernergletscher ist mehr als beeindruckend. Das Gletscherskigebiet ist von November bis Mai geöffnet, im Sommer lockt der grünblau glitzernde Eibsee zu einem Sprung ins kühle Nass ein.

 
 

Karte

Wetter

Events