fbxinggplus
 
 
 

Cultural and Traditional

Munich is varied and exciting, yet relaxing and cozy at the same time – depending on what you
feel like doing at the time. Culture vultures will be delighted by the many theaters and opera
houses, while art lovers will enjoy visiting the many exhibitions and collections. But you’ll also find
what you’re looking for if unwinding, being entertained, and discovering the more traditional side of
Munich are top of your list: relaxation and sport in the English Garden and along the Isar River, a
visit to one of the many beer gardens in the summer, or shopping and drinking mulled wine at the
Christmas market during the festive season. And soccer fans won’t want to miss out on a match
with premier league teams FC Bayern Munich or TSV 1860 Munich in the famous Allianz Arena.
What are you waiting for?

 
 
Bavarian State Opera (Bayerische Staatsoper)

Bavarian State Opera (Bayerische Staatsoper)

In the 17th century, Ferdinand Maria, Elector of Bavaria, had a theater built in the Hercules Hall of the Munich Residence (the palace of Bavarian monarchs), where the first Italian operas were performed. In 1750, Elector Max III. Joseph commissioned architect Francois Cuvilliés with the building of the magnificent Rococo Residence Theater (“Cuvilliés Theater”). In 1818, with the Nationaltheater, the opera ensemble was given a new home: Germany’s biggest opera house to date. It was the venue of world premieres of four masterpieces by Richard Wagner: Tristan and Isolde, The Mastersingers of Nuremberg, The Rhinegold and The Valkyrie. The Bavarian State Opera is a broad-based artistic and musical venue – one of the biggest worldwide. In previous seasons it reported over half a million visitors at 350 performances. Photograph: Florentine/PIXELIO

 
 
German Theater (Deutsches Theater)

German Theater (Deutsches Theater)

The Deutsches Theater, with 1,600 seats, often plays host to successful shows and musicals from Broadway and London, thereby bringing an international flair to Munich. Many new productions have their German or European premieres here: Stars like André Heller and David Copperfield have previously captivated audiences here. In the adjoining restaurant, Lorenz Stiftl will round off your evening with culinary delights. Photograph: Ramgeis, Wikipedia

 
 
Theater at Gärtnerplatz (Gärtnerplatztheater)

Theater at Gärtnerplatz (Gärtnerplatztheater)

The Gärtnerplatztheater – or to be precise: the “State Theater at Gärtnerplatz” designed by Michael Reiffenstuel, who opted for a Classicist building style – was opened in 1865 in Munich. Back then it was still called the “Actien-Volkstheater” and entertained audiences with operettas, musical comedies, and folk plays. Today’s line-up also includes operas and musicals. The prime location, right on Gärtnerplatz, makes the theater attractive for everyone, not just culture vultures. In the summer you can relax with a beer or an ice cream on the building’s inviting steps and enjoy the balmy summer’s evenings. Photograph: Hoheit, Wikipedia

 
 
House of Art (Haus der Kunst)

House of Art (Haus der Kunst)

The Pinakothek der Moderne houses four museums under one roof (art, graphics, architecture, design) and is regarded worldwide as one of the biggest museums of 20th and 21st century art. The Old Pinakothek is one of the most significant and time-honored painting galleries in the world and exhibits paintings from the Middle Ages to the mid-18th century. The building itself is regarded as an architectural masterpiece. The New Pinakothek offers an overview of the époques of European art, from the Enlightenment to the dawn of Modernism. Visitors can admire works from the Classicist, Romantic, Art Nouveau and Impressionist periods.

 
 
Munich Kammerspiele

Munich Kammerspiele

The listed Art Nouveau building of the Munich Kammerspiele theater on Maximilianstraße was extensively restored to commemorate its centenary and offers seating for approx. 700 people. Around 12 performances are shown at the theater annually. Further venues that also belong to the Kammerspiele are the Werkraum on Hildegardstraße and the Neue Haus on Falckenbergstraße. Young people aged between 15 and 21 can even use the Kammerspiele for their own theater projects. Photograph: Andreas-Praefcke, Wikipedia

 
 
Lenbach House (Lenbachhaus)

Lenbach House (Lenbachhaus)

The Städtische Galerie (Municipal Gallery) is housed in the national heritage villa which belonged to the aristocratic artist Franz von Lenbach. The Lenbachhaus has established itself as an internationally significant museum due to its unique collection of works by the “Blaue Reiter” group of artists. It also gives an insight into Munich’s art scene in the 19th century, thanks to the countless paintings from this period. Several rooms have been preserved in their original condition. Photograph: Usien, Wikipedia

 
 
Munich People’s Theater (Münchner Volkstheater)

Munich People’s Theater (Münchner Volkstheater)

The theater, which was built in 1955, on Brienner Straße was originally a multi-purpose hall in the Haus des Sports (House of Sport), but was converted into the People’s Theater we know today in 1983. The program includes classics from southern German dialect literature, as well as works from the international people’s theater tradition, including plays by Goethe, Schiller, Shakespeare, Molière, and Brecht. You can enjoy a bite to eat or a drink before the performance in the adjoining Volksgarten (People’s Garden) – which, even without tickets for the theater, is a popular meeting point in the summer with its large lounge terrace. Photograph: Maximilian Dörrbecker, Wikipedia

 
 
Pinakothek der Moderne, Old and New Pinakothek

Pinakothek der Moderne, Old and New Pinakothek

The Pinakothek der Moderne houses four museums under one roof (art, graphics, architecture, design) and is regarded worldwide as one of the biggest museums of 20th and 21st century art. The Old Pinakothek is one of the most significant and time-honored painting galleries in the world and exhibits paintings from the Middle Ages to the mid-18th century. The building itself is regarded as an architectural masterpiece. The New Pinakothek offers an overview of the époques of European art, from the Enlightenment to the dawn of Modernism. Visitors can admire works from the Classicist, Romantic, Art Nouveau and Impressionist periods.

 
 
Residenz Theater (Residenztheater)

Residenz Theater (Residenztheater)

The Residenztheater not only includes the actual theater itself (affectionately known by locals as the “Resi”), but also the Marstall and Cuvilliés Theaters. The Resi is one of the leading theaters in Germany, whose performances of classics like Shakespeare and Schiller have been shaping the German theater scene for decades. With the new director Martin Kušej, an Austrian of Slovenian descent, the theater has been given an international focus, which is being reflected in the ensemble, the program, and the networking with theaters throughout Europe. With its own children’s theater program, the theater is also encouraging the younger Munich generation to visit theaters. Photograph: Florentine/PIXELIO

 
 
Allianz Arena / FC Bayern and TSV 1860 Munich

Allianz Arena / FC Bayern and TSV 1860 Munich

Soccer is to Bavaria what eggs are to Easter. Until 2005 “the Bavarians” (“the reds”) and “the Lions” (“the blues”) were still celebrating their victories and defeats in the Munich’s venerable Olympic Stadium – and then a new era began. With the Soccer World Cup in 2006 in Germany, the Allianz Arena attained world fame beyond Munich’s borders. The stadium can be seen for miles around when darkness falls, and, according to which team is currently playing, it is illuminated red or blue. And if Bayern and 1860 happen to be playing against one another, the city turns into one big party: It’s all about becoming city champion, about fame and glory. Photograph: Richard Bartz, Wikipedia

 
 
Auer Dulten Market

Auer Dulten Market

This is where you will experience the real Munich – at the Maidult from the end of April, the Jakobidult in July, and the Kirchweihdult in October. Every year, around 300,000 visitors, young and old alike, enjoy the hustle and bustle and fairground flair of the three Auer Dulten markets on Maria-Hilf-Platz in the district of Au. For nine days, life is all about strolling, browsing, eating and drinking, having fun, and shopping. Photograph: Amrei-Marie, Wikipedia

 
 
Beer Gardens

Beer Gardens

If you hear the word Bavaria, you think of beer gardens, the quintessence of Bavarian coziness. You can sit in the shade of the chestnut trees on simple wooden benches, with a “Maß” of chilled beer and a hearty, typical Bavarian snack, which usually consists of a Brezn (a pretzel), a portion of “Obatzdn” (Obatzda – a savory cheese spread), and Radi (radish). Almost all beer gardens allow you to bring your own food. The story behind this is that the brewing of beer used to be prohibited during summer, so the winter beer was stored in deep cellars, and chestnut trees were planted over them to provide shade. So it was a natural development to offer food and drinks in the summer. But when restaurant owners protested against the catering being offered in the brewery gardens, it was ruled that only drinks were allowed, so from then on guests had to provide their own snacks. Some of the most popular beer gardens in Munich are: The Augustiner-Keller close to the central train station is one of the largest and most traditional beer gardens in Munich – you’ll meet native Munich locals and also the older generation wearing their lederhosen and hats. The Chinesischer Turm (Chinese Tower) is located right in the heart of the English Garden – typical Bavarian snacks and beer are often rounded off with Bavarian brass band music. With a mixed crowd, good atmosphere, and plenty of space, this is a real cult beer garden. The Hirschgarten is Munich’s largest beer garden with an open-air enclosure for deer and stags. It is near the Nymphenburg Palace and in the center of a park. Directly by the Kleinhesseloher Lake in the English Garden in an idyllic setting is the Seehaus (Lake House). Pedalos and rowing boats, ducks and swans – all right next to the beer benches on the banks of the lake. Photograph: ©Christian Evertsbusch/PIXELIO

 
 
English Garden and the Isarauen (the meadows on the banks of the Isar River)

English Garden and the Isarauen (the meadows on the banks of the Isar River)

The English Garden was one of the first large parks in continental Europe that was open to the general public. Its designer, Friedrich Ludwig von Sckell, based the garden on the landscaped gardens in England. As one of the most spacious inner-city parks in the world (3.75 square kilometers), the English Garden enjoys great popularity. Here you will also find the “Chinesischer Turm” (Chinese Tower) and “Seehaus” (Lake House) beer gardens, a large number of jogging and walking trails, grassy fields for playing football or volleyball, and the Eisbach stream with its famous surfers. In the winter months you can ice-skate on the frozen lakes, try your hand at curling, or enjoy a mulled wine and warm chestnuts.

 
 
Christmas Markets

Christmas Markets

At the beginning of December traditional Christmas markets open throughout the city and ensure a festive mood, or shopping fever, in the run up to the holiday period. As well as the traditional large Christmas market on the Marienplatz, also enticing locals and tourists to venture out is the Christmas market in Schwabing (art and handicrafts), the cozy little market at Sendlinger Tor (the perfect place to see and be seen), and the Tollwood Winterfestival on the Theresienwiese, with a varied offer of shopping and events. And there is also a summer version of the Tollwood event, which takes place in the Olympiapark grounds. Photograph: Ramessos, Wikipedia

 
 
Oktoberfest

Oktoberfest

The Oktoberfest in Munich (known by the locals as the “Wiesn”, from the word “Wiese” meaning meadow) is one of the biggest public festivals in the world. It has taken place on the Theresienwiese since 1810 and is visited by around 6 million people year after year. The festival tents of Munich’s breweries, carousels, roller coasters, and other spectacular fairground rides set up camp on the huge site for 16 days to entertain the festival crowds. The supporting program of events also includes the parade of the beer tent landlords, the traditional costume and marksmen’s parade, and the concert with all of the Wiesn brass bands.

 
 

Map

Weather

Events

fbxinggplus
 
 
 

Kultur und Traditionelles

München ist vielfältig und spannend und gleichzeitig erholsam und gemütlich – je nachdem,
wonach einem gerade der Sinn steht. Kulturliebhaber freuen sich über zahlreiche Theater
und Opernhäuser, während Kunstinteressierte die vielen Ausstellungen und Sammlungen
besuchen. Wer Erholung, Unterhaltung und das traditionelle München sucht, wird
ebenfalls fündig: bei Entspannung und Sport im Englischen Garten und an der Isar, einem
Besuch in einem der vielen Biergärten im Sommer oder beim Shoppen und Glühwein
trinken auf dem Christkindlmarkt im Winter. Und Fußballfans lassen sich ein Spiel des
ersten FC Bayern München oder TSV 1860 München in der berühmten Allianz Arena nicht
entgehen. Unser Smart Stay Hotel Station ist dafür der idale Ausgangspunkt. Auf geht’s!

 
 
Bayerische Staatsoper

Bayerische Staatsoper

Der Kurfürst Ferdinand Maria errichtete im 17. Jahrhundert im Herkulessaal der Residenz ein Saaltheater, in dem die ersten italienischen Operndarstellungen inszeniert wurden. Kurfürst Max III. Joseph ließ 1750 von Francois Cuvilliés das prachtvolle Rokoko-Residenztheater („Cuvilliés-Theater“) erbauen. 1818 erhielt das Opern-Ensemble mit dem Nationaltheater ein neues Zuhause, bis heute das größte Opernhaus Deutschlands. Hier fanden die Uraufführungen von vier Meisterwerken Richard Wagners statt: Tristan und Isolde, Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg, Das Rheingold und Die Walküre. Die Bayerische Staatsoper ist ein breit aufgestellter künstlerisch-musikalischer Betrieb – einer der größten weltweit. In den vergangenen Spielzeiten verbuchte man jeweils über eine halbe Million Besucher bei 350 Vorstellungen. Foto: Florentine/PIXELIO

 
 
Deutsches Theater

Deutsches Theater

Das Deutsche Theater mit 1.600 Sitzplätzen ist immer wieder Gastgeber erfolgreicher Shows und Musicals vom Broadway und aus London und bringt somit internationales Flair nach München. Viele Neuinszenierungen erleben hier ihre Deutschland- oder Europapremiere, Stars wie André Heller oder David Copperfield haben hier bereits ihr Publikum verzaubert. Im angeschlossenen Restaurant rundet Lorenz Stiftl den Abend mit kulinarischen Genüssen ab. Foto: Ramgeis, Wikipedia

 
 
Gärtnerplatztheater

Gärtnerplatztheater

Das Gärtnerplatztheater – genauer: das „Staatstheater am Gärtnerplatz“ aus der Feder von Michael Reiffenstuel, der hierfür den klassizistischen Baustil wählte, – wurde 1865 in München eröffnet. Damals hieß es noch „Actien-Volkstheater“ und unterhielt das Publikum mit Operetten, Singspielen und Volksstücken. Im heutigen Spielplan finden sich auch Opern und Musicals. Die gute Lage mitten am Gärtnerplatz macht das Theater nicht nur für Kulturliebhaber interessant. Im Sommer sitzt man gemütlich mit einem Bier oder Eis auf den ausladenden Stufen des Gebäudes und genießt den lauen Abend. Foto: Hoheit, Wikipedia

 
 
Haus der Kunst

Haus der Kunst

Das Haus der Kunst am Englischen Garten in München gehört zu den wichtigen Ausstellungshäusern weltweit. Es zeigt Retrospektiven moderner, zeitgenössischer Künstler oder themenbezogene Ausstellungen und bietet zudem ein großes Programm für kleine Kunstfreunde. Die Grundsteinlegung des „Hauses der Deutschen Kunst“ erfolgte am 15. Oktober 1933 durch Hitler. Das Haus stellt sich seiner eigenen Vergangenheit in einer kostenlos zugänglichen Ausstellung im Eingangsbereich.

 
 
Kammerspiele

Kammerspiele

Das denkmalgeschützte Jugendstilgebäude der Kammerspiele München in der Maximilianstraße wurde zu seinem hundertjährigen Bestehen umfassend restauriert und bietet knapp 700 Zuschauern Platz. Etwa zwölf Inszenierungen werden jährlich in dem Schauspielhaus gezeigt. Weitere Spielstätten, die ebenfalls zu den Kammerspielen gehören, sind der Werkraum in der Hildegardstraße und das Neue Haus in der Falckenbergstraße. Jugendliche zwischen 15 und 21 Jahren können die Kammerspiele sogar für ihre eigenen Theaterprojekte nutzen. Foto: Andreas-Praefcke, Wikipedia

 
 
Lenbachhaus

Lenbachhaus

Die Städtische Galerie ist in der denkmalgeschützten Villa des „Malerfürsten“ Franz von Lenbach untergebracht. Das Lenbachhaus hat sich durch seine einzigartige Sammlung von Werken der „Blauen Reiter“ als international bedeutsames Museum etabliert. Außerdem gewährt es Einblick in die Münchner Kunstszene des 19. Jahrhunderts mithilfe zahlreicher Gemälde dieser Zeit. Einige Räume wurden im Originalzustand erhalten. Foto: Usien, Wikipedia

 
 
Münchner Volkstheater

Münchner Volkstheater

Das 1955 erbaute Theater in der Brienner Straße war ursprünglich eine Mehrzweckhalle im Haus des Sports, wurde 1983 aber zum heutigen Volkstheater umgebaut. Auf dem Spielplan standen und stehen vor allem die Klassiker der süddeutsch-österreichischen Dialektliteratur, daneben Werke der außerdeutschen Volkstheatertradition, aber auch Stücke von Goethe, Schiller, Shakespeare, Molière, Brecht. Wer vor oder nach der Aufführung etwas essen oder trinken will, kann dies im angeschlossenen Volksgarten tun – auch ohne Theaterkarten ein beliebter Treffpunkt mit großer Lounge-Terrasse im Sommer. Foto: Maximilian Dörrbecker, Wikipedia

 
 
Pinakothek der Moderne, Alte & Neue Pinakothek

Pinakothek der Moderne, Alte & Neue Pinakothek

Die Pinakothek der Moderne beherbergt vier Museen unter ihrem Dach (Kunst, Graphik, Architektur, Design) und gilt weltweit als eines der größten Häuser für Kunst des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts. Die Alte Pinakothek ist eine der bedeutendsten und ältesten Gemäldegalerien der Welt und stellt Maler des Mittelalters bis zur Mitte des 18. Jahrhunderts aus. Das Gebäude selbst gilt als Meisterwerk der Architektur. Die Neue Pinakothek bietet einen Überblick über die Epochen der europäischen Kunst von der Aufklärung bis zum Anbruch der Moderne. Es gibt Werke aus Klassizismus, Romantik, Jugendstil und Impressionismus zu sehen.

 
 
Residenztheater

Residenztheater

Zum Residenztheater gehört nicht nur das Theater selbst (im Volksmund liebevoll „Resi“ genannt), sondern auch das Marstall- und Cuvilliés-Theater. Das Resi zählt zu den führenden Schauspielhäusern Deutschlands, dessen Inszenierungen von Klassikern wie Shakespeare oder Schiller die deutsche Theaterlandschaft seit Jahrzehnten prägen. Mit dem neuen Intendanten Martin Kušej, ein Kärntner slowenischer Abstammung, erhielt das Theater eine internationale Ausrichtung, die sich im Ensemble, im Spielplan sowie der Vernetzung mit Theatern in ganz Europa spiegelt. Mit einem eigenen Kindertheaterprogramm sorgt das Haus darüber hinaus für Nachwuchs unter den Münchner Theaterbesuchern. Foto: Florentine/PIXELIO

 
 
Allianz Arena / FC Bayern und TSV 1860 München

Allianz Arena / FC Bayern und TSV 1860 München

Zu Bayern gehört Fußball wie zu Ostern die Eier. Bis 2005 feierten „die Bayern“ („die Roten“) oder „die Löwen“ („die Blauen“) noch ihre Siege und Niederlagen im ehrwürdigen Münchner Olympiastadion – dann begann eine neue Ära. Mit der Fußball-Weltmeisterschaft 2006 in Deutschland erlangte die Allianz Arena vor den Toren Münchens weltweite Berühmtheit. Das je nach Mannschaft, die gerade spielt, rot oder blau leuchtende Stadion ist abends Kilometer weit zu sehen. Und wenn Bayern und 1860 gar einmal gegeneinander spielen, herrscht Ausnahmezustand in München. Da geht es um die Stadtmeisterschaft, um Ruhm und Ehre. Foto: Richard Bartz, Wikipedia

 
 
Auer Dulten

Auer Dulten

Hier wird echtes München gelebt – zur Maidult ab Ende April, zur Jakobidult im Juli und zur Kirchweihdult im Oktober. Rund 300.000 große und kleine Besucher pro Jahr genießen das Rummel- und Kirmes-Flair auf den drei Auer Dulten auf dem Maria-Hilf-Platz im Stadtteil Au. Dann heißt es jeweils für neun Tage: Bummeln und Schauen, Essen und Trinken, Amüsieren und Einkaufen. Foto: Amrei-Marie, Wikipedia

 
 
Biergärten

Biergärten

Wer an Bayern denkt, denkt auch an Biergarten, der Inbegriff bayerischer Gemütlichkeit. Unter Kastanienbäumen genießt man auf einfachen Holzbänken sitzend eine kühle Maß und eine zünftige Brotzeit, oft bestehend aus einer Brezn, einer Portion „Obatzdn“ und Radi (Rettich). In fast allen Biergärten darf auch eigenes Essen mitgebracht werden. Hintergrund:
Früher durfte im Sommer nicht gebraut werden, also lagerte man das Winterbier in tiefen Kellern und pflanzte darüber Schatten spendende Kastanien. Nahe liegend, dass sich hier Ausschank und Bewirtung entwickelten. Als aber die Gastwirte gegen die Bewirtung in den Brauereigärten protestierten, blieb es beim Ausschank, die Brotzeit brachte man von da an selbst mit. Einige der beliebtesten Münchner Biergärten sind: Der Augustiner-Keller in der Nähe des Hauptbahnhofs ist einer der größten und traditionellsten Biergärten Münchens – hier sind viele gebürtige Münchner und auch ältere Semester in Lederhose und Hut anzutreffen. Der Chinesische Turm befindet sich mitten im Englischen Garten – dort werden Brotzeit und Bier oft mit bayerischer Blasmusik untermalt. Gemischtes Publikum, gute Stimmung, viel Platz, ein echter Kult-Biergarten. Der Hirschgarten ist Münchens größter Biergarten mit Freigehege für Hirsche und Rehe. Er befindet sich nahe dem Nymphenburger Schloss und inmitten einer Parkanlage. Direkt am Kleinhesseloher See im Englischen Garten liegt malerisch das Seehaus. Tret- und Ruderboote, Enten und Schwäne – alles gleich neben den Bierbänken am Seeufer. Foto: ©Christian Evertsbusch/PIXELIO

 
 
Englischer Garten und Isarauen

Englischer Garten und Isarauen

Der Englische Garten zählte zu den ersten großen kontinentaleuropäischen Parkanlagen, die von jedermann betreten werden durften. Als Vorbild für den Gestalters Friedrich Ludwig von Sckell dienten englische Landschaftsgärten. Als eine der weiträumigsten innerstädtischen Parkanlagen der Welt (3,75 Quadratkilometer) erfreut der Park sich großer Beliebtheit. Hier gibt es die Biergärten „Chinesischer Turm“ und „Seehaus“, zahlreiche Jogging- und Spazierpfade, Wiesen zum Fußball- oder Volleyballspielen und den Eisbach mit seinen berühmten Surfern. Im Winter kann man auf den zugefrorenen Seen Schlittschuhlaufen, Eisstock schießen oder Glühwein und heiße Maroni genießen.

 
 
Weihnachtsmärkte (Christkindlmärkte)

Weihnachtsmärkte (Christkindlmärkte)

Anfang Dezember eröffnen die traditionellen Chriskindlmärkte im gesamten Stadtgebiet und sorgen für vorweihnachtlich festliche Stimmung, wahlweise Shopping-Fieber. Neben dem traditionellen großen Christkindlmarkt auf dem Marienplatz sind es vor allem der Schwabinger Weihnachtsmarkt (Kunst und Kunsthandwerk), der gemütliche kleine Markt am Sendlinger Tor (sehen und gesehen werden) und das Tollwood-Winterfestival auf der Theresienwiese locken mit einem vielfältigen Einkaufs- und Veranstaltungsangebot, Einheimische und Besucher ins Freie. Das Tollwood gibt’s übrigens auch als Sommerausgabe, dann allerdings auf dem Gelände des Olympiaparks. Foto: Ramessos, Wikipedia

 
 
Oktoberfest

Oktoberfest

Das Oktoberfest in München (mundartlich: Wiesn) ist eines der größten Volksfeste der Welt. Es findet seit 1810 auf der Theresienwiese statt und wird Jahr für Jahr von rund 6 Millionen Menschen besucht. Auf dem riesigen Festplatz stehen dann 16 Tage lang die Festzelte der Münchner Brauereien, Karussells, Achterbahnen und andere spektakuläre Schaustellerbetriebe und unterhalten die Festbesucher. Zum Rahmenprogramm gehören auch der Einzug der Festwirte und Brauereien, der Trachten- und Schützenzug und das Konzert aller Wiesn-Kapellen.

 
 

Karte

Wetter

Events